Vector Stage Spotlight with Laser rays

It’s that time of year again – we will approve the 4 shows submitted & slated by the board for our 2017-2018 season & hear from the directors of those shows for an exciting preview!


We will also vote for officers for our Board of Directors.  Positions to be filled include: President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Hospitality Chairman, Member at Large & Production Chairman. Although some offices have nominees, we also take nominations from the floor at this meeting. To be nominated, the member must be paid & present.  Offices will be filled by majority vote counted by our Ticket Chairman Shannon Banter & Ole Hall of Fame Member Bob Bryan.

We will also pass out ballots for our 5 new awards to be distributed at the annual banquet on May 20th. We’ve already received nominees from members, but at the meeting you will select from those or be able to write in your own choices.  These will also be counted by Shannon & Bob.

Be a part of another year of our history making theater happen in our community & beyond! Membership is just $10. Receive our quarterly newsletters, audition notices & fundraising materials along with invites to the annual membership meeting & banquet. AND a free ticket to the show of your choice that season!

Wanna Know What’s Next Up for Ole Olsen Memorial Theater….”DROP DEAD!”

“Sometimes the hardest & funniest part of rehearsing for a show is staying alive!” Meet a cast of has-been actors planning to revive their careers in “Drop Dead!,” a potboiler murder mystery directed by “Wonder Child of the Broadway Stage” Victor Le Pewe (a psychotic eye twitching megalomaniac). At the dress rehearsal the set falls, props break, and the producer & an actor are murdered. During the opening night performance, the murders continue. The remaining thespians must save the show and their careers, solve the mystery & manage to stay alive for curtain calls. Written by Billy Van Zandt & Jane Milmore, Drop Dead is co-directed by Debby Myers & Shannon Banter. Dinner theater is April 27. Show dates are April 28-30, May 5-7.

Cast Announced for “Drop Dead!”

How Exciting!!!

Here is the cast for “Drop Dead!”

Victor LePewe – Dan Brown

Chaz Looney/Drools – Blair Brown

Candy Apples/Penelope – Cari Scott

Dixie Scorsese/Inspector Mounds – Diana Blair

Mona Monet/Bette – Stephanie Selleck

P.G. Piggy Banks – Alan Myers

Phillip – Kevin Martin

Constance Crawford/Lady Barrington – Anne Loy

Alabama Miller – Stephanie Wagner


Only 2 weeks left to Nominate for New Awards for Upcoming Annual Banquet

Ole Olsen’s Board of Director’s have announced 5 new recognition awards for its membership who go above & beyond. Members are asked to begin submitting names of those who they feel are deserving. Submissions will be accepted up to and including the day of our membership meeting on March 19. They can be given to any board member via email or in writing.  Board members are listed below.

The following award recipients will be announced at this year’s annual banquet & all nominees will be invited:

Picture 237

“Making a Difference” Award – this is for individuals who have made a difference in our group. It is not required that it be a member. This could have been this year or in previous years.

“Behind the Scenes” Award – this is for individuals who have worked behind the scenes including backstage, lights, sound, promotion, music, set building/design, or costumes. It is not required that is be a member. This could have been this year or in previous years.

“Caught in the Act” Award – this is for individuals who are actors/actresses in one of this season’s plays. It is required that the nominee be a paid member.

“Standing Ovation” Award – this is for an individual who has contributed in any way to one of this season’s shows; as a director, actor/actress, or in any capacity who has gone above & beyond to help with this season’s plays. It is required that they be a paid member.

“Pledging/Hazing” Award – this is for an individual who is new to our group this season performing or contributing for the first time. Since we allow individuals to participate in their first show without becoming a member, membership is not required.


Members of Ole Olsen’s Board of Directors include: Alan Myers, Kelly Makin, Christy Sullivan, Cathy Converse, Shannon Banter, Debby Myers, Kelly Mathias-Williams, Jim Walker, Stephanie Wagner. If you would like to nominate someone for any of these fantastic awards, please contact one of these people.


Cole Porter Review History

Since 2005, Ole Olsen Memorial Theatre has presented an original revue as part of the Cole Porter Festival commemorating the birth of Cole Porter in Peru, Indiana.  As of the tenth production, “Kountry Fried Cole” in 2014, over one hundred local volunteers have performed over 120 different songs composed by Porter in productions placing them in modern motifs and popular genres, including a morning news program, soap opera, murder mystery, science fiction adventure, and fairy tale.     The revues also feature lesser-known pieces by Porter, with “Night and Day” being the only song performed in all productions.  Being an annual revue gives the creators more freedom to dig more deeply into the Cole catalogue, and with the assistance of the Cole Porter Family Trust, they have been able to include songs from all periods of Porter’s prolific career.  As of the tenth production, “Coffee” and “Stereophonic Sound” had been performed as often as “You’re the Top”, and “I Get a Kick Out of You” appeared in as many productions as “Plumbing” and “Pets”.         By combining his extensive library with a different genre each year, the revues have proven to be a very fitting celebration of the inimitable talent of Cole Porter.  Regardless of the genre portrayed, his music always fits effortless, with usually no re-writing, as if the material was written specifically for each production.  Regular attendees also admire how a song like “In the Still of the Night” could be the threatening lament of a ninja-dressed murder suspect one year and then a countrified joke regarding third-shift moon shining in another.     As we hear often during the Cole Porter Festival, “What other composer could you do this for?”

2005:  Timeless Cole Co-Written by Kurt Schindler & Kelly Voss; Co-Directed by Kelly Voss & Kurt Schindler

2006:  A Cole Reception Written and Directed by Kurt Schindler

2007:  A Cup O’ ColeWritten and Directed by Kurt Schindler

2008:  Night & Day: A Soapy Cole Written and Directed by Kurt Schindler

2009:  Radio Cole Written and Directed by Kurt Schindler

2010:  Timeless Cole 2.0 – Now With Recycling! Previous material from Timeless Cole, Co-Written by Kurt Schindler & Kelly Voss New Material Written by Kurt Schindler Directed by Kurt Schindler

2011:  Cole Blooded Murder Written by Patricia Piper; Co-Directed by Patricia Piper and Tammy Hileman

2012:  Once Upon a Cole Story by Nancy Bender; Script by Nancy Bender and Kurt Schindler; Co-Directed by Nancy Bender & Kurt Schindler

2013:  Cole In Space Written and Directed by Kurt Schindler

2014:  Kountry Fried Cole Story by Sunny Holtzlander; Script by Sunny Holtzlander & Kurt Schindler;    Directed by  Sunny Holtzlander

2015: Prehistoric Cole Co-Written by Alan Myers & Kurt Schindler;  Co-Directed by Alan Myers & Kurt Schindler